A new comer
Hi,

I am an amateur astronomer from chennai.
I am following the nirmukta website for the past 3months.
I am against astrology.
For the past 2years I am going about disproving all the scientific claims of astrology.
And one more thing Astrology is not a pure Indian science.
So am eager and looking forward for some discussions on astrology.

Balaji
(22-Apr-2010, 10:13 PM)astrobalaji Wrote: Hi,

I am against astrology.
For the past 2years I am going about disproving all the scientific claims of astrology.

Balaji

Welcome! I too am interested in astronomy, but am too lazy to go out and see the skies. I'm just content with seeing pictures. Astrology is pure nonsense. But yet, it has a large following in India. Would love to see what you have to say on astrology.
Hi Balaji, nice to meet you ;)

I completely agree with you. The beautiful science of astronomy is so much more satisfying than the nonsensical pseudoscience of astrology. Also, it is a universal pseudoscience, with three major types- Western, Chinese and Vedic varieties of bullshit :dodgy:

I look forward to having some conversations on this and other subjects with you. Perhaps we can have the astrology/astronomy discussion in the science forums. Sajith suggested we need a pseudoscience forum, so maybe its time to add that. We will be discussing this in the next meeting.

Meanwhile, there are a few members organizing Nirmukta Chennai. Are you a member of the facebook group? If not, you should join. Your coordinator for Nirmukta Chennai is Sanjay. He is also the Mod for the Chennai forum on this site. You can send him a PM and he will send you the password to the Chennai forum (It's kept private for now).

I hope you enjoy being a part of the community!
"Fossil rabbits in the Precambrian"
~ J.B.S.Haldane, on being asked to falsify evolution.
(22-Apr-2010, 10:13 PM)astrobalaji Wrote: Hi,

I am against astrology.

Balaji

Hi Balaji,