Astrology
Astrology is an ancient "science" of India. It is noted in the Upanishads as "lower knowledge." We all grew up depending upon astrological predictions and charts. It was very much part of our daily lives and we did not bother to question its veracity. This is a much abused system in India and also abroad. Most astrologers are good mind-readers and they know what to say to soothe the minds of people who consult them.

Here let me share with you all four encounters I personally had with astrology. I feel compelled to share these experiences here even though I am a rationalist.

1. In 1956 my father took over the general managership of a bank from another gentleman who claimed to be an amateur astrologer. This elderly man never charged anyone for his predictions. This man drew an astrology chart on my father and my older brother. Some years later, after training as a chartered accountant, my older brother opened a practice at Udupi. The old astrologer called him on his own as said, "You will not practice in Udupi. Your horoscope says you will pracrtice in Mangalore." My brother ignored him. A week later, my brother's ex-boss, under whom he had trained suddenly died from a massive heart attack at age 39. His father came to my brother and pleaded him to take over his ex-bosses practice. His second son trained under my brother. My brother has been practicing as the leading chartered accountant for 48 years now.