Feminism in the wild
This is about a Muslim feminist woman, who seems to be perpetually undercover.

‘Feminism had made me orthodox, while the burqa had enabled her’

An extract from the article:

Quote:“Why do you always set western feminism as a standard against which every other woman’s feminism is measured? Why a set definition? Isn’t it tiring to put yourself on display all the time? Here, beneath this, there is a sense of serenity, a way which lets me feel free. This shield doesn’t let a stray man scrutinise me as an object. In yours words, that ‘commodifying western gaze’. This is not to say this is the ideal kind of feminism, but this is my kind of feminism. Being a creature of a particular historical context, I don’t want to become so radical that my life is at stake. Isn’t that a choice again? What use is there for uninhibited radicalism if the fanatics of my community almost kill me? Isn’t it great that I’m studying a feminism course and have a friend like you?”

Are her choices questionable?

Aditya Manthramurthy
Web Administrator & Associate Editor
Nirmukta.com
I disagree with some of the things the woman says about her "version" of feminism. The whole "Isn’t it tiring to put yourself on display all the time?" argument is so pathetic. The majority of the women in the world dress conventionally and even though they might get irritated from time to time by a man who stares at her, I don't think the burqa is the ideal way to prevent it. The burqa is not a cure for the man who has no sense of boundaries or personal space.
The western standard of feminism? Isn't the standard of feminism all over the world the same? That women and men are treated equal? If she wants to go one step further and dress the way she wants, then that is her choice. But to say that her choice will stop stray men from objectifying her...girl...you are mistaken. Kind of condescending and patronizing IMO. And slightly paranoid.
(08-Nov-2010, 04:13 PM)donatello Wrote: