Nihilistic Philosophy
I am a beginner and have just started studying Nietzsche. Does studying Nihilistic philosophy make one pessimistic? Would it lead to the following questions:
What is the point to anything at all? What is the point to life?
(02-Oct-2012, 11:43 PM)geetha Wrote: I am a beginner and have just started studying Nietzsche. Does studying Nihilistic philosophy make one pessimistic? Would it lead to the following questions:

"Does life have intrinsic value even devoid of purpose? What is the nature and worth of happiness? To what extent does it make sense to view humans as beings of reason?". This earlier post here attempts to confront these questions which are prone to lapses into resigned nihilism.

The BBC Series Human: All too human first aired in 1999, profiles the thought and work of three philosophers who in the popular imagination are viewed, and shunned, as bleak nihilists: Nietzsche, Heidegger and Sartre. The title of the series is aptly chosen to emphasize that these philosophers grapple with the human condition of seeking meaning, rather than treating meaning as unworthy of seeking or studying. Unlike the caricature in the popular imagination, it is not as if their life's work would be summarized in a series titled "Meaninglessness: The Only Reality".

Quoting from this earlier post, "Sartre's remains one of the most clear articulations of the rejection of any pre-ordained purpose of humanity and the insistence that choosing one's purpose is an individual's prerogative, and burden". Quoting Sartre himself:
Quote:Man cannot will unless he has first understood that he must count on no one but himself; that he is alone, abandoned on earth in the midst of his infinite responsibilities, without help, with no other aim than the one he sets himself, with no other destiny than the one he forges for himself on this earth.