Novice
[fon‌t=Times New Roman]
Hello,
My name is Dhananjay Dayanandan, and i live in mumbai(thane distt suburbs). I am an engineering student. Glad to discover a freethought group of such capacity.
I am irreligious, or i shall put it this way; agnost with instinctive inclination towards atheism.
I think in order to question the radical religious doctrines, superstitions, and dogma, one should understand theism first. I an novice when it comes to theology and i hope to harness as much knowledge in favour of freethought.
Regards.
"The crime called blasphemy was invented by priests for the purpose of defending doctrines not able to take care of themselves."_ Robert Green Ingersoll.
[+] 1 user Likes TwoFace's post
Welcome to the forum Dhananjay smile i can see you are already connected with mumbai freethinker group on facebook, hope you'll find the forum a useful platform for discussion besides facebook , you can quote,edit your posts and contribute to a set of well organised and categorized discussion threads archived for eternity Biggrin
[+] 2 users Like LMC's post
Hi Dhananjay, welcome to the group smile

Quote:"I think in order to question the radical religious doctrines, superstitions, and dogma, one should understand theism first."

If it comes to dialectics and arguing about the merits of individual theological ideas, yes you are correct. It would be necessary to know the religion. But I think there are many aspects of religion that can be criticized on objective scientific grounds, and these need not require theological study but rather need scientific study. As an analogy, to criticize why astrology is nonsense one need not know how to do the complex calculations that are all founded on false premises. One just needs to point out the scientific evidence for the premises being wrong.